Posted in Book Review

Book Review #2

Words can’t express how much I disliked this book. The title should have said it all on how bad it was going to be. It didn’t take long for me to realize that it was going to be a terrible book but I wanted to give it a chance.

The poetry in this book flowed BUT I feel like the way this woman portrayed mental illness was completely disrespectful and ignorant. I do NOT recommend this book to anyone. I’m actually probably going to throw this book away because I don’t want it to be part of my collection. It was wasted money, that’s for sure.

People with mental illness aren’t crazy and I hate it when people say they are. We may struggle with different things than the average person does but it doesn’t make us crazy. Just because something happens that other people don’t understand and appear strange to some people, that doesn’t make us crazy. This book in my opinion was making it sound like mental illness is crazy. Then it proceeded to get worse throughout the whole book. Yes, she’s good at writing but this was not the way.

If there was a rating on 1-5 stars, 1 being the worst and 5 being the greatest, I would definitely give it a 1. It’s not worth reading and it gives people the wrong idea. She makes it sound like she cares about ending the stigma on mental illness but she basically reinforced the stigma. 5 thumbs down.

Reading this book upset me, I was hoping that in the book she would learn to accept her sister’s mental illness but she didn’t. It was very disappointing.

Author:

I'm a highly intelligent aspiring writer. Never forget, we are not alone.

Leave a Reply

